By Jacob Trimmer
Inside The Pew

University of Hardin-Simmons guard Matt Addison and University of Texas at Dallas forward Chris Barnes were named American Southwest Conference MVP’s for the West and East divisions, respectively, on March 1.

Addison, a Killeen native, averaged 28.6 points per game and led the Cowboys to an ASC-era school record for wins as HSU went 21-7

Matt Addison

and lost in overtime to McMurry University in the ASC Final. In that game, Addison had a career-best 41 points and he was named to the all-tournament team. Addison averaged 4.7 assists and also led the league with 2.5 steals per game. He scored a league record 744 points this season.

Barnes has earned the accolade for the second consecutive season. The San Antonio native averaged 15.6 points and six rebounds per game. Barnes also knocked down 54 three-point shots and recorded 21 blocks in leading the Comets to their fourth consecutive division title.

Addison and Barnes join Marlon Miller (Belton) of Mary Hardin-Baylor; Jeremy LaGarde (New Orleans) of East Texas Baptist; and Kyle Schleigh (Houston) of Texas-Dallas on the all-ASC team. Addison, Miller, Brandon Irwin (Thorndale) of Howard Payne, Steven Jones (Compton, Calif.) of McMurry and Travis Pflughaupt (El Campo) of Schreiner on the all-ASC West first team.

In other all-conference accolade Brian Todd (Pfluegerville) of UMHB was the defensive player of the year in the ASC West, while Greg Chiasson (Austin) of Texas-Dallas was named defensive player for the East. Mary-Hardin Baylor’s Ken DeWeese and Terry Butterfield were named coach of the year for the east and west, respectively.

The most valuable player award is as voted on by the league’s coaches.

Leave a Reply